Open consultation: Regulating Advanced Extension Awards

From Ofqual PublicationsLeave a Comment

Advanced Extension Awards (AEAs) are qualifications taken alongside A levels, designed to stretch and challenge the most able students. Our rules permit AEAs in any subject, but there is currently only one available, in mathematics. Around 700 school-age students take this qualification each year. Some universities use it to inform entry decisions.

Proposed changes

Maintaining comparability with previous qualifications

We continue to require AEAs to:

  • be accessible to students who have taken an A level in the corresponding subject, without requiring any further study or learning
  • be…
Follow us on …

Leave a Comment